Direct Translation

As Haiti’s Jewels has grown and developed, I’ve found myself being blown away by how much the artisans have connected with the business and it’s values. When I was thinking about what to write in this blog… and what YOU, the reader, wants to hear… I decided to let the artisans speak for themselves.

Words from the artisans about Haiti’s Jewels.

Chrismate: “My dream is not to make certain jewels out of a few materials. No, my dream is to learn and master many different mediums with which to build. I’ve begun to relate creativity, development, and building to success and opportunity for my family.”

*”My dream enterprise is one in which those who are hungry and thirsty around the mountain will come to my shop to find relief and comfort in a hot meal, cold drink, and relaxing place to sit. It will be a haven in the community.

 

Johnny: “I make special jewelry. For me to make these intricate pieces out of plates and porcelain cups I must work twice as hard but doubly rewarding. I create unique artwork. I am always on the lookout for colorful or unusual pieces of trash that can be rescued and turned into something very different and added to my collection.”

*”My dream is to have an enterprise that finds new and improved ways of doing the same things that Haitians already do. My country needs creativity.”

 

Vanessa: “Making jewelry advances me as a woman. I don’t need a boyfriend to provide me with education, medical care, and food. I am independent… which I LOVE. When we create new things, as artists, we are opening up our minds and the world continues to expand.”

*”My dream job is to be a cosmetic wholesaler that supports local companies.”

Richard: “I love making beautiful things that change my family’s lives. I believe wealthy and famous people, like our president, are going to recognize this. I began carving stones into new shapes and have changed both the stone’s and my own identity. Now, I am a designer and this stone is a piece of high quality jewelry.”

Wilnes: “I want to thank God first for everything he has done for me. I remember the day I first made earrings. I saw Sophie doing a jewelry class and I thought the pieces were so unusual. I was curious. Then, before I knew it, we were working together and I was starting to help my wife, my child, and my head (sanity). I got married and I brought a child into the world, I paid for my father’s medical bills and the rent on his house, and began to call myself a designer. My favorite material to work with is Haitian Coconut. I saw a girl wearing coconut earrings that were very lacquered and I decided I could make some that were more beautiful and natural. I made twenty pairs in different shapes and sizes and brought them to Sophie. Together we picked out the best designs, of course she loved them and made them apart of the Haiti’s Jewels collection.”

Robenson: “Hi! My name is Robenson and I am a handsome young man. I love making earrings. One day I was leaving English class and I saw a white girl making jewelry with some Haitian people I didn’t know. I started making jewels and quickly became good. My favorite earrings to make are made from recycled glass and have an elegant look. I’m saving to study in the states because I want to help my country. If I work hard, I can serve the suffering.”

Donald: “It was a pretty Wednesday when I met a pretty girl (me?). She was teaching jewelry making in a nearly empty classroom with a few people I didn’t recognize around her. I walked into the classroom and had a vision of myself as an artist. Everything I’m learning is making me better. It’s UP TO ME to recycle trash to make beautiful things. I want to spend my life learning. When I start to work, I want to use the money I make to help other young people do what I love so much, LEARN. I am the youngest person in this business and I have a lot of respect for all the artists who have become almost like a family. With this job I will travel, go to university, and so much more. Thanks to all who have supported this idea!”

Michel Ange: “The biggest reason why I began making jewels was to support my son, Dawins. He is the love of my life. My greatest duty in life is to be an excellent mother to my children and, if I am able, to be the parent of a child who has no family. I have a new addition to my family, a little boy who yearns to be loved… something the orphanage cannot give him. I can thank God for blessing me with the ability to add to my family. I’ve never met many of the people who buy the jewelry I make, but I want to thank them, PERSONALLY, for being apart of this.”

One thought on “Direct Translation

  1. thank you Sophie, what a wonderful thing to allow the artisans to speak about their jewelry and what this opportunity you have brought them means to them and their future!

Leave a comment